## THE LEGISLATIVE BRANCH

## Article I of the Constitution

establishes the legislative branch.
Section 1 reads: All legislative Powers
herein granted shall be vested in a
Congress of the United States, which
shall consist of a Senate and House
of Representatives.

## Responsabilities of this branch:

Makes all laws, declares war, regulates interstate and foreign commerce and controls taxing and spending policies.



## WHAT PEOPLE SERVE IN THE LEGISLATIVE BRANCH?

There are currently 100
Senators, 435
Representatives, 5
Delegates, and 1 Resident
Commissioner.





Some core democratic values:

Patriotism, justice, rule of law.